Which is more powerful, the gun or the lens?

I wrote in the first week of September 1997. Princess Diana had just died and the news world was thrown into silence. The calm before the storm, the paps got hammered and yet the papers rolled off with every money making spin off they could. I remember Radio 1 played the same loop of songs including the haunting theme from Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence. Click here to listen.

I was sat, parked somewhere along the spine of road network that connects our truly brilliant country and I penned this,  I was 22 years old.

Which is more powerful,

the gun or the lens?

One thing is certain,

They’re a means to an end.

Both of them active,

both of them still.

Equally powerful,

able to kill.

Hunt the rich and famous,

as if a bird of prey.

Scavenge like hyenas,

endless, night & day.

Scurry round like sewer rats,

humans are their morsels.

I wonder, are their parents proud?

Their children have ‘no’ morals!

Each of us, share the blame,

every day repeat the same.

We’re both as bad as one another,

we buy the papers and show each other.

How do we know what they say it true?

‘Cos they tell me & I tell you!

I wonder what some might say,

if they were still with us today.

We’ve lost some great people over the years,

media pressure…the pain…the tears.

The only people who gain from the lives they wreck,

are the big fat cats, with their big fat cheques.

© Adam Brooks – 1997

6 Comments

Filed under Diana, friends, heart, love, Media, Mind, Poem, poetry, Princess Diana, Princess of Wales, Words that move

6 responses to “Which is more powerful, the gun or the lens?

  1. Well, congratulations… there are not many things that silence me and this piece certainly did.

    So glad you have published this it’s more than worth sharing with the world.
    A

  2. Thanks Mand…I had a busy mind even then 🙂

  3. jackie

    Brilliant poem for a young man to write especially about something so emotional. Well done.

  4. Cheers Jackie, glad you liked it. Even then I was off in my own little head 🙂
    You know what those long journeys on the road can do to you

  5. Impressive publish! STICK WITH IT!

  6. Magnificent website. A lot of useful information here. I am sending it to a few pals ans also sharing in delicious. And naturally, thank you in your effort!

Leave a Reply

